Badminton Updates: Lee Chong Wei Tops BWF Super Series Title

 Lee Chong Wei Tops BWF Super Series Title

Badminton World Federation started BWF Super Series on 14 December 2006. The first season started with Malaysian Open. And the last one ended with Hong Kong Super Series in November 2017. Last season was the elevwnth edition of BWF Super Series.

BWF Super Series

BWF Super Series was a great effort from the World Badminton Body. It helped many great players to emerge out from the bottom to a very good level. Moreover it helped to improve the financial conditions of Badminton players.

BWF Super Series achieved milestone in history of Badminton but now this era has been ended. From next season i.e. 2018 World Tour will take place instead of Super Series. In other words Super Series has been replaced by the name World Tour in a revamped schedule issued by BWF.

Malaysian top seed Lee Chong Wei has won 46 men’s single titles of Super Series since 2007. This record has become permanent in the name of Lee Chong Wei because from now no Super Series will take place. So one can Chong Wei tops Super Series title.

Another star but this time from South Korea, Lin Yong-Dae secures 2nd position with 43 titles. He has won 37 men’s double and 6 mixed double thereby achieving in total of 43.

For third position there is a clash between Yu Yang and Zhao Yunlei ( Former World Champions and Olympic Medalist ). Both have won 42 titles in Super Series. Yunlei has won 15 Women’s double and 27 mixed doubles. On the other hand Yang has won 36 women’s doubles and 6 mixed doubles.

Zhang Nan (5th position), Wang Xiaoli (6th position), Liliyana Natzir (7th position), Ma Jin (8th position), Lin Dan (9th position) while Chen Long and Wang Yihan shares 10th position.

BWF Super Series comprises of two levels.  BWF Super Series which contains 12 tournaments out of which 5 are Super Series Premeir.  At the end of BWF Super Series 8 players or pairs are choosen to play Super Series Finals at the end of the season.

Image Source: Google



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.